Forum on its last legs?

geogphotos

Question

Yes, the forum has gone down. There used to be a lively discussion about new gear..who can afford new gear with our income down? All around disinterest on all fronts, it seems. About all we talk about here is what sold for peanuts, or to announce the rare decent sale.  There’s more action in the Good things and Bad things threads.

For my part, I’ve been watching a bald eagle nest that has a lively fun chat room, where I’ve been hanging out for several months. I’ve learned so much about bald eagles and how the parents raise their young. Of course, I’m deeply interested in nature.

We did lose some vital members who were valued. A few may still be contributing, but no longer in the forum. We’ve pretty much quit teaching newbies, something we used to do a lot. As in…why spent hours doing something Alamy should be doing, while we receive less pay? Besides the “teaching competitors” part.  I jump in a bit, but nothing like I used to.
The excitement has left the house, along with Elvis.

I haven’t made an upload since my surgery. That's 5 months. I keep telling myself to do it, but I can’t afford gas to run around taking pictures. How many shots of flowers and plants around here can I take? Especially when I’ve not been able to plant any while I’m healing?  Zero interest there. 💤

Edited by Betty LaRue
  • Love 3
  • Like 3

Still getting new members, so I assume not deliberate....

But yeah, we lost a lot of old hands / Forum members with the last commission change. Seems a lot of new people indeed:

• can't be bothered / have no interest
  • are spread over lots of agencies and also have no interest 
  • Like 2

22 minutes ago, Steve F said:

Still getting new members, so I assume not deliberate....

But yeah, we lost a lot of old hands / Forum members with the last commission change. Seems a lot of new people indeed:

• can't be bothered / have no interest
  • are spread over lots of agencies and also have no interest