If You Were in New York City for Just Two Days . . .

Ed Rooney

My daughter lives near Yorkville and I try to manage a couple of extended visits each year. Though, no matter when I go, I seem to attract either a blizzard or a tropical storm/hurricane. 

I find Central Park, Chinatown, and anywhere along the water the places I gravitate to the most.

Edo, I’m curious about your reasons for asking this question. 😀

Since you asked why I asked:  I used to be a travel photographer, but I live in NYC 365 days a year now. And I shoot stock here all the time. My question was really asking what an out-of-towner would think is worth capturing as stock if coming here for just a short time. B)

1. I once took a circle Manhatten boat tour when I came to New York to attend a course at Cold Spring Harbour and really liked the look of the buildings with water tanks on them, so if I could get a good vantage that would be number one.

2. View back at NY from the Staten Island Ferry (Ferry included).

3. Time Square at night. I know there are tons of these, but it would be for myself!

Chris

I used to visit NYC fairly often when I was a university student in Montreal (late 60's and early 70s). I even made a short film -- shot mainly in Greenwich Village -- there for one of  my classes. However, it has been so long now that I wouldn't know where to begin photographically. If I went back for a short visit, I would probably just follow my nose, so to speak. That said, you seem to have The City That Never Sleeps very well covered.

Up to Inwood to shoot the Dyckman House, out to City Island, anywhere on the elevated part of the subway, people relaxing at Wave Hill, cricketers in Van Cortland Park etc etc
I shot all these, with a rubbish tourist camera!