After Alamy - where now?

Following the changes to the Alamy contributor contract it seems impossible that I can now carry on contributing to Alamy and that, if nothing changes, I will have to delete my portfolio.

The reduced commission is bad enough, but the deal-breaker is the increased exposure to legal risk and Alamy's expection that I would be responsible for my legal costs, their legal costs and the legal costs of Uncle Tom Cobley and All in the event that even a spurious legal claim was brought against me. Given that leagl action is seen almost as a recreational game in some parts of the world, it is a heavy potential burden to bear.

I am a sole trader in the UK, bring in an annual income in the low thousands, spread over photos and videos in several agencies, but Alamy is my principal still image agency. 

So, can anyone point me to a source of affordable indemnity insurance which I could trust to take the heat, the practical administration of defending, and covering the cost in the (very unlikely) event I was forced to defend a claim against some infringment or other anywhere in the world?

Would membership of some professional association be possible which would afford such protection? 

I've not found any agency which is like Alamy in the range of uncurated editorial stock it accepts. Does such a place exist? I know it's not possible to openly discuss alternative agencies, but a hint of the best places to look would be helpful. 

I know I will not be the only one asking these questions, so any wisdom imparted will be most useful to more than just me.

• Love 3
  • Like 3

11 minutes ago, Joseph Clemson said:

Following the changes to the Alamy contributor contract it seems impossible that I can now carry on contributing to Alamy and that, if nothing changes, I will have to delete my portfolio.