Newbies fumbling in the dark

As a newbie I find myself fumbling in the dark.

Re QC's comments about white and black points

What about a portrait with a deliberately over exposed white background?  This is a recognised technique, but does such an image fail the Alamy 5% white point test?

Re images must be sharp

How much must be sharp? The entire image from front to back?

In some circumstances, it seems not possible to ensure tack sharpness throughout the image.  Take the case of a close up of a small subject. To get the entire image sharp from front to back would require a very small aperture.  However, going smaller than F11 often means increasing diffraction effects, which makes it impossible to obtain crystal clear sharpness, anyway.  Therefore, one is left with only the option to focus on a zone within the frame and let the rest go soft.  Does that mean a QC failure on account of a soft image.

Then take the case of an extreme close up of a portion of a model's face, possibly on full zoom.  If the nearer eye is clear, but the other eye is outside the depth of field, does this mean the image fails QC?

Then take the case of a screw on lens diffusion filter which covers the entire frame, including the model's eyes. Does that deliberate skin-kind softness automatically mean a QC failure?

As a newbie I find myself fumbling in the dark.

Re QC's comments about white and black points

What about a portrait with a deliberately over exposed white background?  This is a recognised technique, but does such an image fail the Alamy 5% white point test?

Re images must be sharp

How much must be sharp? The entire image from front to back?