I have had no problems either buying or selling on eBay and no probs with PayPal (other than the usual scams which arrive in my email inbox occasionally which I just forward to spoof@paypal.com).  I have never sold anything on Craig's List but a few months back, someone on Craig's List had put my website to back up their claim that the person was indeed a photographer who was looking for an assistant (according to the ad).  I received a couple of emails from wary assistants who were just checking the veracity of the ad.  I reported  it to Craig's List and they removed the phony ad immediately.   To this day, I am not sure why the scammer placed the ad and what the intent was.

Cheers

Sheila

Not once. Living in a somewhat remote part of Thailand I often need to resort to eBay for equipment, and particularly obsolete items. I've been sourcing goods via them for some 8 years now and not once has there been a problem. It's actually (for me at least) quicker and more cost effective than buying from Thai dealers. PayPal is fine also.

Checking the feedback history is essential, as is the old adage "if it's too good to be true, it usually is"

Ed, I sold all my 5D kit last year on Craig's List with no problems, to finance all my new Sony and Canon gear. A few email exchanges will tell you whether a responder is just a general bottom-feeder or someone actually wanting your photo equipment.

My rules were:  local only; cash only; meet in a public place. I did recruit one of my sons to be around for my first deal, but after that I got used to the idea of trading something in public for hundreds of dollars in cash. Met a lot of nice people who are into photography. I suppose you could always meet outside your bank.

On Craig's List I got nearly twice what KEH/B&H/Adorama offered me.