How is your August so far?

As a beginner photographer I would like to survey how much you making in a month? How big is your file and how much u usually you make a month? I know that revenue here dropped down big time. Is it still worth it making so much effort here? So far i have no sale yet as my file is very low.

Edited by rose22

So far my August isn't very good -- one resale of an image that was invoiced twice in July, then refunded twice in August and then sold again yesterday for the same price. 🤔

The prevailing wisdom is that you can expect to average one sale per month per 1000 images that you have on sale. I've been averaging 14 sales per month with 9K images, so I'm doing somewhat better than that. My average revenue per month so far this year is about $500 US gross (net income is another story). Monthly payouts are of course lower than this, but I can usually count on getting around $200 (sometimes quite a bit more), which helps pay a couple of bills. Is it worth your effort to continue uploading? I guess that depends on how much you enjoy photography and how much patience you have. It's extremely difficult nowadays.

Edited by John Mitchell
  • Love 2
  • Thanks 1

3 hours ago, John Mitchell said:

The prevailing wisdom is that you can expect to average one sale per month per 1000 images that you have on sale. I've been averaging 14 sales per month with 9K images, so I'm doing somewhat better than that.

For many contributors it appears that bulk low value sales in high numbers now well exceeds the previous estimate of one sale per month per 1000 images that you have on sale. Times have changed.

2 hours ago, sb photos said:

For many contributors it appears that bulk low value sales in high numbers now well exceeds the previous estimate of one sale per month per 1000 images that you have on sale. Times have changed.