I am new to Alamy, but I do video with several agencies, so I am aware of the importance of good keywording.
I have read somewhere in forums that super tags can actually have a negative impact on search position.
It is time consuming to choose supertags for every images, but I am willing to do it if it helps with discoverabilty.
Also what about Category and Location, is it important to fill them?
Any other tips for optimal keywording on Alamy?

Supertags did indeed demote images in searches for the first 4 months or so after roll out of the new alamy search engine.  That eventually got fixed.

From what I can tell:

• Categories - not now but maybe in the future.
  • Location - probably useful now.

No.  I'm saying supertags are now very important (as they should be).  Find 10 if you can.

I'm leaving categories alone for now, but may need to revisit this if things develop.  Alamy suggests you start this now before it gets to be too onerous a job (like for me).

Supertags seem to largely work the way one would expect nowadays, so you should use supertags to highlight the main subject of your image.

Slightly contrary to Reimar, I would suggest you only supertag directly relevant keywords or phrases. Supertagging irrelevant ones will likely lead to you images being found in searches where your image is not relevant and may adversely impact your ranking in future searches (though no one seems entirely sure whether Alamy ranking is still relevant in the new search engine).

I fill out everything there is to fill, including the line "tell us more about your image." Usually that's just a copy/paste from the caption, but sometimes I add more.  If I find it cumbersome to do that, then I need to hang up my spurs. Everything we do from clicking the shutter button on requires care and time.  Why skimp at the end?