Micro-Macro-Whatever-Stock

There cannot now be any distinction between any of the stock websites. Despite trying to avoid as many of the very low value sales by opting out of everything apart from direct sales, the average license fee has plummeted this year. Today I got 4 licenses only one of which was above $1.50 and that was just over $3.00. Four images sold for my gain for less than it would cost to buy a coffee. I’m relatively new to stock compared to many here on the forum but there has been a significant recent downward trend. 
OK, just a general moan.

• Like 1

There's no doubt at all that Alamy regard themselves as being in competition with microstock sites for the volume sales, but thankfully are still also capable of attracting the two and three figure licences. I'm also relatively new to stock and such am unaware of which other agencies can match those larger values.

• Like 1

I'd say that the biggest distinction now is among buyers. Fortunately, Alamy still has some old-fashioned editorial customers who are comfortable with traditional RM licensing and have the budget to pay decent prices. All the rest now have a "microstock mentality" and are used to paying peanuts for images. Apparently, there is a whole new generation of "boutique" commercial buyers shopping at Alamy. However, I've seen neither hide nor hair of them, probably for good reason since my images aren't exactly trend-setting. 😬

• Love 3
  • Like 1

12 hours ago, John Mitchell said:

Apparently, there is a whole new generation of "boutique" commercial buyers shopping at Alamy. However, I've seen neither hide nor hair of them, probably for good reason since my images aren't exactly trend-setting. 😬

John, I think I'm attracting them all! My average license price is terrible compared to some of you guys....

• Love 1

6 hours ago, Steve F said:

John, I think I'm attracting them all! My average license price is terrible compared to some of you guys....