Why is payment delayed over and over?

As a new contributor, I was pleased that I finally reached my first cleared balance above $50 late last week and on my Dashboard, I could see a statement, "We'll pay you on 02 Jan 2017" next to the cleared balance amount. Well, 2 January came and went, and no payment was made. Then I noticed the statement was changed to "We'll pay you on 03 Jan 2017" on my Dashboard. Still, no payment yet.  Just a few minutes ago, I noticed that statement was updated to : "We'll pay you on 01 Feb 2017."

Since this is my first time receiving payment from Alamy, I wonder if this sort of thing happens to other contributors as well? Does Alamy frequently delay paying its contributors? I'm pretty sure I've got my payment method (Paypal) set up properly. So why is this happening?

Paypal payments generally arrive around 8-10 working days into the month. That 1st February (or whatever the next month maybe ) message will soon disappear - it seems to crop up from time to time, but I've always received my payment in to my Paypal account by mid month.

Are people working on a Sunday in your neck of the woods? On January 1st?

Usually it's 4 or 5 days. 9 or 10 if you're using Paypal. The bank is American. And it's not like the European system where we send money, and it's in the receiving account the next second or so. Well it is like that over here.

The jittery dates occur when the first day of the month is either a weekend or a holiday. It's probably when the databases roll over. Which is probably at daytime in India, which is where part of the back office is.

wim

edit: typo

From my experience the payment date always

rolls over to the next "business day"  Mine went

from 1/1 to 1/2 to 1/3.  I guess it is a computer

thing.  I did get a PDF of the payment order today

1/3 and since I do a direct transfer I will have the

money in my U.S. back within 48 hours.  I do not

use PayPal for Alamy payment.

Chuck