The Pros and Cons of Culling Our Collections

I think it all comes down to "you can never tell what will sell".  So many times you read of people having sales of photographs they least expected - ones they very nearly did not upload.

As a newbie, I can appreciate the learning curve - and am definitely modifying what I upload but in the direction of similars rather than subjects.  If an image is individual in a collection - and possibly less common in the whole database I think culling would be a mistake.  The "rules" on what sells and how to take a sellable picture change (like everything in human fashion), what is rejected this season may be the in thing in a couple of years time. 

The best course I can see is possibly removing similars (if you have 10 near-identical photos of a lemon you only need one) then take all the images you don't like that you would cull and move them to their own pseudo.  This achieves 2 things - it helps CTR by separating images you don't think will be liked,  and offers a really clear indication of if they do sell - when they sell.

I see no dross in your collection, Andy, and I hope I have very little in mine. I'm trying to find reasons other than similars and guessing about sales as to why people think they will improve things by deleting images. 

Edo

21 minutes ago, Ed Rooney said:

I see no dross in your collection, Andy, and I hope I have very little in mine. I'm trying to find reasons other than similars and guessing about sales as to why people think they will improve things by deleting images. 

Edo

The only reason I see to do it is if an image you hate is the one that always comes up first for in a search for a subject. Then maybe get rid of it? Otherwise, I'd say keep everything.

Paulette

I'm very much in tune with those thoughts, Paulette.