Hello everyone,

I am not planning to reach a fulltime salary from stock. I guess it will never happen for me. Especially because i have allready a full time job.

But just out of curiousity. Are here full time stock photographers what get a living just from Alamy? 

I believe JG does, but could be wrong. Mind you he is a full time professional stock photographer to best of my knowledge.

Allan

I dream of the day when you can do that. Amongst other paid photography work of course. Anything is possible if you are determined and positive enough. 

I've been dreaming of that day for 40 years. That's why I'm still here instead of getting on with it. :blink:

Allan

I do not think that it is possible to earn a full time living out of stock any more, however modest your asperations.

dov

I must have a day job I don't know about then.... if anyone sees me getting on a train on a Monday morning can you tell me? ;) 

It is definitely possible to make a living from stock full time, I do, Jeff does, same for many others I know too. The difference between people who do this for a living and people who don't is often that we treat this as a business and shoot for multiple agents in multiple styles and target various markets. i.e. we shoot for the market, not what we like to shoot.

J

One for Mr... (96,779to answer?

You've bloody shorted me, you have.

(& given me some not mine, have you?!)

This is what it is:  Images:97020

As to starting from scratch in 2013 --> future full time stock shooter income;

yes, if one has all the factors it takes + persistence, this scenario can be real:

(am only familiar with nonexclusive unreleased RM occasionally licensed commercially, too)

2014: $3000 net (mostly "gets it" but still learning)

2015: $8000 net (nearing total comprehension, knows limitations)

2016: $15000 net (persistence like a locomotive)

2017: $25000 net (takes camera everywhere but in shower)