Nikon D800E or D7100?

I have been using a Nikon D800 for the past 3 years or so, but now I'm finding the technique requirement to achieve a satisfactory photo increasingly painful, I hanker after my good old 12Mp Nikon D300 which always took a good picture.

To this end and with a view to keeping Capture NX2 operational I am now looking at a D800E replacement (sharper) or maybe even a step sideways to a D7100 (24MP crop sensor), however I'm not sure if the D7100 and a "mere" 24Mp would now disappoint me - does the d7100 take nice photos?

Thanks a lot for your time, Tim

Yes, the D7100 is excellent but I wish I felt I had the money right now to turn it in for the new D7200. It is supposed to have improved autofocus but, for me, the increased buffer would be most appreciated for my wildlife shooting. I still use my D300 and really wish they had done a D400 because the D7100 isn't quite right somehow. I do like the lighter weight in my female hands though.

Paulette

I loved the way my pictures looked with my d7000. There was something about the color rendition that really grabbed me. That said, I had more QC failures with that camera than any other. Soft and lacking definition. Maybe I had a bad copy. No, it wasn't technique, because I easily made the MP transition from the 70, 200, and 300. I'm not technical enough to know how to figure out whether I had a bad copy. I used good lenses. Nikon 24-70 and the newest 80-400 among a few others. If the D7200 takes sharper images while keeping the color, I'd love it.

I sold the camera and moved to the D800.

That camera has underwhelmed me. Oh, yes, those 36mp are great, lots of cropping room. If it had that special color rendition of the D7000, ID be much happier. Picky, picky. I mainly use it for studio and other short-term uses. While shooting jewelry with it, it struggled getting some (not all) of the purples right, turning them into blue under daylight balanced lights. Drove me nuts.