Editing photo marked editorial

dkhowe

Question

In my view it depends very much on what the photo is for.  As a news photographer I would not remove or hide any details, that would be be against the general practice of photojournalism   It also depends on what country you are in.  Different countries have vastly different rules of privacy.  In the UK there is no automatic right to privacy unless you are in a private place (although if the photographer is in a public place the issue is more complex), a court order is in place (that can be difficult), if the individual or place is covered under legislation relating to the Official Secrets or Anti terrorism laws, or ,  if the individual has a legitimate  expectation of privacy.  So, photographing through a bedroom window is a no no.  But, it someone is in a public place then they do not have, currently, a right to privacy.  As to car registrations, it is not easy to find the owner of a car from a car registration so there is no particular privacy issue.  There are some issues under GDPR (General Data Protection Regulations) however, I would argue, and some contributors would disagree, that GDPR has only limited application to news and editorial photography and in any case the regulations do not stop you taking photographs.  I am unaware of any enforcement action under the GDPR in relation to photography.  

Common law and judges decisions attempt to strike a balance between privacy and the "freedom of the press".  The pendulum appears, recently, to have swung a little way towards privacy, particularly if you are rich, and against freedom of the press.  So again, it depends what usage you are making of the word "editorial".  Freedom of the press protections, in general, only applies to news photographs.    

Someone not wanting their photograph to be taken does not make it illegal.  There is the Editors Code on taking photos and most professional photojournalists I know have their own ethics on this issue as I do.