camera and lens insurance

Hello Gang

I recently forked out around £1800 for a nice camera and lens

I am looking into insurance

I am not a professional

I looked at www.aaduki.com and their quote is £63 which I thought was reasonable:

• UK and 60 days worldwide cover (More cover outside of the UK is available by contacting us on 01837 658880)
  • Theft from an unattended vehicle
  • All risks including accidental damage and loss
  • Full and open theft
  •  

Does anyone here have insurance that they can recommend?

Thanks,

David. 

I use Aaduki for full professional insurance (kit, public liability and professional indemnity) and can definitely recommend them for customer service. I have not had to claim but any dealings with them have been excellent - they know their stuff and are very responsive to all queries. 

One thing I would say is that if you are using the camera for stock then you are using it professionally even though you are not a professional (i.e. making a living out of photography). You may want to clarify that with any insurer when taking out a policy as it may arise in the event of a claim and there is no point in having insurance that is invalid. 

Thanks MDM, i will go ahead and let them know about that and most likely take out a policy with them. 

I am holidaying soon in some rough areas of Latin America and need the peace of mind that having cover might bring. 

I just called them and yes, since I am an Alamy contributor I must pay for Pro. Seems a bit much as I have made about £150 in total. 

Anyway, now that I am committed to Pro status, the quote went up from £68 to £110. 

10 hours ago, DJ72 said:

I just called them and yes, since I am an Alamy contributor I must pay for Pro. Seems a bit much as I have made about £150 in total. 

Anyway, now that I am committed to Pro status, the quote went up from £68 to £110.