Lighter kit

While not a complete Luddite, I'm not good at keeping up with developments. I moved to digital in 2007 when the Nikon D3 appeared - it seemed to me the first digital camera capable of matching and  surpassing the quality I'd been getting from 35mm over the previous 30 years (also, of course, I already had the lenses). Since then I suppose 75% of my commissioned work has been shot on this one camera, it's been dropped, rebuilt, and carries on as well as ever. However it is a heavy beast. I've just spent a few days in the mountains carrying it, with a 70-200 and a 24-70. I'm planning a very much longer walk next year and realise that I shall need something much lighter, if I'm to carry everything else I shall need into the wild. Drawing on your collective wisdom and experience, what are your recommendations? I need excellent image quality, of course, lenses to cover 24mm to 200mm equivalent, very good battery life, ideally full frame and an optical viewfinder, though these are not deal-breakers - so what's out there these days?

Alex

I still wouldn't show up on assignment without an impressive looking DSLR, if the client was going to be present. Being retired from all that, and shooting for stock only now, I'm very happy to have moved from my Nikons to a much lighter kit: three Sony system, NEX, RX10 and RX100M3. The RX10 has a Zeiss zoom that goes from 24 to 200. You'll have to judge the weight and image quality yourself. I could shoot with the pocketable RX100 iii all day and be very happy with the results: in fact I usually do exactly that.

There are many many many posts on this subject on this forum, Alex. Do an Alamy search.