I am looking for some advice from you Live News shooters. For the last 12 years we lived way out in the middle of nowhere, so I never got into Live News. We are now back in town and, in 3 weeks or so, marijuana will be on sale in the shops here. So my questions is - what is Live News workflow? How does it work? My camera (D750) has its own wifi, so I can get photos onto my phone. I presume you use OOC jpegs. How do you keyword, and how do you upload? All comments and suggestions welcomed from a total beginner. 

Colin

Colin

There are many answers to this question.  Some people do upload via the phone but you need a way to add a headline caption and perhaps keywords (this can be done later but my understanding is that it will not go over to stock without keywords_.  I use photo mechanic to title, caption, keyword and rate photos before importing to Lightroom for processing, using a laptop and mifi.  But,  I shoot in RAW; many live news shooters use JPEGS for speed.  I guess it depends on your level of technical ability.     To sell Live News they do have to be of a reasonable standard unless you are snatching a photo at an incident (for example) Some one like Red Snapper can give you much better advice but at the end of the day there are many different approaches and you use what works for you.

Keywords can be done later. You're supposed to headline and caption.

I've seen uploads gone up on Live News where headline wasn't done and each photo ended up on its own. Made a complete mess of the Live news feed until Alamy fixed it. Wouldn't suprise me if the contributor got a rather strongly worded email from Alamy for that.

You can caption and upload via your phone using:

iOS: Shuttersnitch

Android: Press IPTC or MoPhoto

Photo Mechanic is popular on a laptop but if you're going via a laptop you could use Lightroom, although that's slower.