I don't know how some of you get such large collections

I've been working at this for 8 years, and am only now closing in on 3,000 images. Of course I have had periods when I was caught up in other things and just couldn't shoot or upload stock, so its not like that's the only thing in my life.

I don't know how some of you with 10,000 and upwards do it. Shoot lots of similars and batch develop them?

I tend to pick my shots, maybe taking a half dozen of something and then choosing one to three of the best ones, all a little different.  It isn't unusual for me to download 50-60 images to my computer and only choose 20 out of those.  It's not that the others aren't good images, I just don't see any advantage to having many shots with only tiny differences.  I know when I am looking on Alamy, when I have come to pages of dozens of images from one photographer that looked almost the same, my eyes glazed over and I didn't look at any of them.  Not one stood out, in other words.

I think that was before Alamy changed things, does stacking, etc.

Just curious as to what you all think.  Is it better to have 3,000 images that are, for the most part, different, with only a few similars or does it pay off to spray and pray?  If you went through your portfolio and got rid of everything but 3 or 4 similars of a scene or item, what size portfolio would you be left with?

I know there are probably many differing opinions, just curious to hear them.  Sometimes I feel my workflow is in the dark ages.  I just spent a couple of hours developing 15-18 images and keywording 10 of them.  I'll get to the rest tomorrow.  You all probably develop 100 in the time it takes me to do 10.  Right?

Betty