Any advantage (to contributor) in providing hi-res (gt 40Mp) images?

Hi. I'm currently shooting with a 24mp camera, which personally I find to be a sweet spot in terms of resolution. In terms of shooting for stock though, I wonder if a higher resolution might be advantageous, in terms of

1. giving you competitive advantage if the client is actually wanting a higher res image than others have available

2. flexibility to crop in (pseudo telephoto) and still have a high(ish) resolution image

3. get paid more, since higher res images command higher prices

Does Alamy actually welcome high resolution (greater than 40 megapixel) images?

Does anyone actually have experience of switching to a high res camera and seeing their earnings rise as a result?

Any pertinent comments welcome (especially from Alamy). I am, as might be guessed from this query, a relative newbie here. I do know however, all that stuff about concentrate more on what you shoot and the quality of the images you deliver... I just want to know if, all other things being equal, delivering higher res images is going to make you more money?

Thanks...

How many clients need images that big for their purposes is the question. Not many I would have thought. Plus extra costs to you for file storage and time taken to edit due to large file size etc.

• Love 1

I seem to remember this topic being discussed in the past and it is I suppose possible that some contributors provide high resolution images for some niche market, but I think 24MP is more than enough generally. Press, sports and wildlife photographers often use high MP camera so they can crop heavily as necessary but even with 24MP you can crop a vertical from a landscape and still get good quality above the 17MB uncompressed threshold.

There was a fairly recent thread on the same subject and I pointed out that there was no longer a way to filter by file size as there used to be - but they've added it now!