Anybody like to discuss focus stacking - the process of taking multiple images of a subject at different focus distances from the camera and merging them on a computer to produce an image that is in sharp focus from front to back, something that is often not possible when shooting single images.

We could share info on shooting and processing techniques, pictures (not necessarily on Alamy) and so on. I am relatively new to this and am definitely open to learning. I have done a few experiments a little while back but hope to do a lot more now with a lot more time on my hands with the Covid-19 isolation. It is a very suitable activity for those of us isolating in our homes at the moment as it is particularly applicable to closeup and macro photography where depth of field is typically tiny. However it can be applied to lots of other areas of photography as well such as landscapes.

Everyone is welcome to join in from complete beginner to technical expert and hopefully we can learn and inspire each other..

Here is one of my first attempts:

Close up image of an orange and lemon using a focus stacking technique that renders the subjects in sharp focus from front to back Stock Photo

Orange and lemon

Wow! What has happened with the image Mick? It looks squashed from the sides.

Good image displaying focus stacking though. I have not tried it yet but look forward to the posts.

Allan

7 minutes ago, Allan Bell said:

Good image displaying focus stacking though. I have not tried it yet but look forward to the posts.

Allan

Pix do sometimes get squished vertically depending on monitor size and so on.

4 minutes ago, spacecadet said:

Pix do sometimes get squished vertically depending on monitor size and so on.

As you said to me in another post. OIC.😀

Allan

22 minutes ago, Allan Bell said:

Allan