Does shooting for stock change your eye?

A friend of mine was telling me that shooting photos for stock inherently changes your photographic eye and how you see things. Since I'm pretty new to this, I have to say I find that happening and I don't really like the feeling. I think I'm going to stop looking at the Photos Sold thread and just go back to seeking the most beautiful, well composed images I can find within my photographic interests and upload the best ones. Rather than "shooting for stock".  I think that will keep me interested in the long term, when clearly there's not much money to be made with this endeavor anyway.

How do you feel shooting stock photography has affected your eye and your overall approach to creating great photos?

• Like 1

13 minutes ago, Sally R said:

I have only been shooting for stock for several months, and I can very much relate to what you are saying. I've uploaded a lot of photos from before my intention to do stock, and I feel a stronger sense of connection with these images in a way. But what I am trying to do with stock, is make images that still inspire me at some level. I've taken some more mundane shots of things like signs. I did try and do some still life images for the other stock site I'm with, and I don't think they're very good and can't say they really inspire me.

At the same time, if you want to make significant money from stock, photographing all sorts of things can be a way to go. But if what makes you most happy is following your particular interests, then another way of looking at it is you will do your best photography that way.

But yes, I think my brain works a bit differently now, thinking about stock when I'm looking at things. I think I'm trying to strike a balance between what has always inspired me, while seeing new opportunities and options with stock in mind.