Sharing photos in social media?

Most of my work is wildlife and nature stuff, I am enthusiastic about nature and share lots of my work on Facebook/Twitter.

Is that a no-no? I am completely new to this business and sort of worried that sharing my photos will hurt me/the value of my work.

Do any of you share your work on social media? Do you take any precautions or make any special considerations before you share?

Thank you!

-Riley

Not talking about social media particularly but the things I always consider are:

• All copyright information embedded in JPGs (the metadata)
  • A notice somewhere saying that all images are copyright with all rights reserved, no copying or linking without prior written permission etc.
  • Minimum useful resolution
  • Watermark (copyright notice) where appropriate

For social media it's really important to look at the actual license you grant by uploading your images.  You also need to watch out for changes in licensing conditions.

I'm don't rely on photography for my income, so I am perhaps a little more lax than many here, but I do know that social media is a minefield!

Most of my work is wildlife and nature stuff, I am enthusiastic about nature and share lots of my work on Facebook/Twitter.

Is that a no-no? I am completely new to this business and sort of worried that sharing my photos will hurt me/the value of my work.

Do any of you share your work on social media? Do you take any precautions or make any special considerations before you share?

Thank you!

-Riley