Optimizing keywords for improved views, zooms and hopefully sales.

I’ve been posting images to Alamy for a couple months now and I’m trying to make sense of how to optimize my keywording for improved views, zooms and hopefully sales.  So far I’ve kept my keywords focused and fairly sparse to avoid coming up in searches that don’t fit the image.  I’ve been perhaps a bit too successful since I’m also not getting loads of views and zooms…or sales.

I’ve been reviewing My Alamy and find that with few exceptions the majority of searches are simple one, two or three word searches that result in thousands of views.  Common words like “race”, “white cat”, “jellyfish”, “animals funny” and “cruise ship” are some of the most recent searches and resulted in over 14,000 views apiece.  I gave up trying to find my white cat images after 50 pages so no surprise I wasn't zoomed.  One searcher uses a much more complex system, for example “house colorful not fun not bird not food not dish not girl not family not man not woman not cute not animal not dog not cat not child not baby”, but his results also pull up thousands of images so the advantage of such a lengthy search term isn’t clear to me.

You can comment on my keywords for any image but if it makes it easier, take a look at my keywords for this image DB6WD9 – RM.  It's one of my more sparsely keyworded images.

Caption:  Man casting rod and reel, fishing from the beach in Fernandina Beach, Florida.

Essential Keywords:  man cast fishing beach rod reel surf sand sea

Main Keywords:  Atlantic Ocean surf waves [Fernandina Beach] [Nassau County] Florida USA

Also, I'm having a lot of trouble keywording two images, DDGG98 – RM and DDGH8D – RM, since I'm not good with vehicle identifications.