Hello all. Pretty new here. I was interested in peoples opinions on the importance of having a personal website. Wether it's worth paying monthly etc for something professional or building your own and keeping costs to a minimum. As i’m very new to this im prefering the 2nd option, any suggestions welcome.

As said before what do you want the website to do?  Really important to specify that and the either build one or not

Personally, as someone who built and now maintains six websites I would not be without them, virtually every day they give a return.

Mine is with Zenfolio... http://www.philcrean.com

At the moment they have an offer of 20% off(I also get 20%), if you use the following referral code: 7JM-KK3-ENZ

They're pretty good and do what they say on the tin!

Nearly all of my private commissions, and some commercial/editorial jobs come through the website.

I couldn't survive without it!

Phil

I guess it would primarily be for showcasing my photos, not necessarily to sell, it's only something i’ve recently considered noticing most photographers have them. Just something simple and elegant that i can use to direct people who show an interest, maybe business cards. 

I operate 3 websites one of which is a photography one.  I use Piwigo, which is free.  You can set it up to sell prints if you want.  Web space cost varies.  I use justhost.com if you want to check them out.

Jill

On 04/06/2018 at 13:13, Jay D said:

I guess it would primarily be for showcasing my photos, not necessarily to sell, it's only something i’ve recently considered noticing most photographers have them. Just something simple and elegant that i can use to direct people who show an interest, maybe business cards.