New To the Site Looking For Constructive Criticism

Gladiatr

Am a total newbie to the site.  Only have about 56 images up at this point.  Would it be possible to get some constructive criticism from some of you veterans out there?

Best Regards, 

John Tresnicky

Some of your images are looking pretty dark (on my monitor, anyway). Think about brightening them up and shooting in better light.

Adding more caption info and keywords would be a good idea as well -- e.g. "Blooming flowers in landscape." What kind of flowers? What kind of landscape?

Good luck.

Actually the infrared pictures are from the mid-1970s.  Were it only that I could go back and re-shoot them.   I do agree that after they were digitized, they came out a bit on the dark side.  I considered cropping some of them a bit but was afraid that if I did so the resulting image might be too small to post.  (I suspect I am revealing how new I really am to digital photography).

The seascapes were taken from a badly rocking motorboat on the waters near Cabo San Lucas.  On one of them, I thought the crooked image provided a different perspective of the Arch, etc. and I left it alone.  I can go back and use the software to straighten them and see how they look.

I do sincerely appreciate the comment from all.  Keep them coming. 

Best Regards.

John Tresnicky

Austin, Texas

You really do need to straighten those horizons.  And the rocks look kinda flat. No real feel of ruggedness and awe.  Perfecting post processing skills is mandatory to compete with the millions of other images out there.

Jill

Unfortunately the IRs don't really look like IR. They look like old faded slides.

Just a thought on archives. Dingoes, lions and tigers are not extinct. I recently scanned my old negs and slides, about 5000 of them from 1976-2003. Only about 100 were worth putting up here for some historical or biographical interest. There may be another 100 at a push.The rest are, well, just old negs and slides.