Authorization for painting

You can offer a paid or unpaid licence, it's up to you. But if you give permission you don't want it ending up as a print unless that's the basis of your fee.

At least he asked- have a look at Sheila Smart's thread about soneone who didn't ask

on first reflections, these requests feel like compliments, but too often end in tears. I have had some very bad experiences. Yes, check out Sheila's recent saga on another post. Once the genie is out of the bottle you have no way of stuffing it back in. Just say, thanks for your kind interest and POLITELY DECLINE!

My wife is an accomplished artist. Neither she nor any of her fellow painters work from even their own photographs as reference. The cruel fact of the matter is, your enquiring artist CAN'T DRAW. But maybe they can copy.........

Emest, I just had a peek at a couple of pages of  your Alamy portfolio; those painted faces and lip plates are exactly the kind of thing  which have caused me grief! I would be hearing loud warning bells.

I wouldn't give a stranger permission for free to paint one of my photos, especially because Personal and/or Private Use can so easily morph into Commercial and/or Public Use. Artist using Flickr for inspiration can be anyone, honest or not.

[An oil painter appropriated my best-licensed landscape photo - one I've exhibited in art museum, and licensed for use on tourism sites... - and posted photo of her painting, with continent & time of day altered in description, on homepage. When viewed online the photo of 'award winning oil' looked exactly like my original photo.]

BTW, I looked at ernest's port, and is the person any chance same person as who asked Sheila for permission?

Have received a message from someone who is asking my permission to paint one of my Flickr images. Any comment ?