Removing objects from photos

Raz_Mc

Question

Hi

I have some photos of stores, such as IKEA.  Am I allowed to remove objects like security cameras and vents on the side of the building to make the images more saleable and the logo a cleaner photo offering?

21 answers to this question

I'm not sure why you would want to make such modifications to the image. The presence of the logo and the distinctive colour scheme of the building precludes selling the image for commercial use. In which case the image needs to be sold for editorial, or possibly, personal use. Editorial images don't usually benefit from extensive editing to remove items such as you describe. Indeed, editorial images ought not to be significantly modified lest the accuracy of depiction is impacted and starts to verge on being misleading.

In the case you describle above it's probably not a big issue but, even though I'm not a Pro photo-journalist, I've always understood that editorial images shouldn't be substantially modified.

5 hours ago, Raz_Mc said:

Thanks Joseph.  Yes, I’ve kept the photo as is now.  Was thinking looked better without the cameras etc

You could try both as an experiment. I would declare in the Additional info that the image has been cleaned up. And offer a link to the original one as well. And the other way around as well.

wim

• Like 1

Joseph, I wonder if you are confusing editorial stock with live news? I would not make any editing changes to news photos. Most of my Alamy stock images are exclusive and for editorial only. I consider those to be used as illustrations. I clean up most of them the way Raz suggests. I've never had any trouble with anyone for doing that. 

Edo

• Like 4

14 minutes ago, Ed Rooney said: