Which anti-virus software ?

...i just wondered what anti-virus software people were using - and would you rate it as good, bad or just so-so ?

I've been using NORTON for a while, and to be honest, i find it over-priced, over complex, and my subscription is over-due... so i might just switch to something else.

Thanks in advance for your comments.

GD

I've been using BitDefender for several years now. As far as I am aware it has successfully protected me from infections and attacks, but one never knows if something has sneakily slipped in the backdoor and out again - or am I just paranoid?

I use the Total Security package which protects up to five devices (family computers and android phones in my case) for £35 per annum introductory offer. The full price is nearly £70 per annum, but every year so far I've been offered an early-bird renewal discount which has kept the renewal at around £35-40.

My main computer is now showing its age - Microsoft have reported that it is unfit to upgrade to Windows 11 - and this may be why I feel Bitdefender sometimes spends a long time doing scans and impacts the speed of the computer when at work. However, it does seem to provide a comprehensive package and even scans my Network Attached Storage drives. I like  the Safepay feature which opens sites for banking and other sensitive work in a separate protected desktop which protects you from keylogger software and suchlike - the deep details of how it works are beyond my ken.

I used to use the free version of Avast, until they introduced changes which meant I had to move to a paid version (can't remember precisely why) and in assessing the options at the time Bitdefender looked favourite and I've stuck with it by default really.