Advice, tips, comments on my portfolio, thank you! :)

LorenzoPUD

Hello!

I am an italian amateur photographer who is uploading most of his photos on Alamy. 

I try to vary my subjects, but most of the photos I upload are taken during my short or long trips. I have not uploaded a big number of photos yet, but I am quite regular in doing it, every month I upload some more.

I am not very satisfied of my sales and this year I had no sales up to now! :(

That is why I kindly ask you to give me your advice, tips or any comment to allow my photos to be more used by Alamy's customers.

Thank you very much in advance,

Ciao! :)

Lorenzo

Ciao Lorenzo!

Sorry you haven't had any sales this year.

You have correctly identified that you haven't uploaded a lot of pictures. This will be a principal reason for not getting a lot of sales.

Also, you have a portfolio mainly of travel shots. Because of the pandemic, not a lot of people have been travelling abroad, so sales of travel shots have been down a bit.

This is subjective, but I find that the lighting and composition in a number of your photos is a bit off - it could be better. I know that if you're travelling, you can't choose your light, but if the lighting is not good enough, I don't bother taking the shot. You do have some good pictures by the way, I'm just picking particular ones here.

1) Are you using editing software? Sometimes you have converging verticals in your pictures (where the lines of vertical objects get closer together at the top of the picture). This is an easy fix with editing software:

The medieval towers of the city-center of Bologna: Torre degli Asinelli (left, 97 meters high) and Torre Garisenda (right, 47 meters high) - Stock Image

Another example of converging verticals:

Ferrara, Italy (6th August 2021) - The Estense Castle (XIV century) right in the middle of italian Ferrara's center - Stock Image