How do I track down where my image has been used?

Hi! I have been submitting to Alamy for a couple of years and have been fortunate to sell a few images. I was wondering if there is a way of knowing where sold images have been used? I used Google image search and managed to track down their online use but is there a way of finding where they have been used in print publications? Or is that not possible? The description next to my sold images gives the print run and says it was a newspaper or magazine but which one?

46 minutes ago, Walnutter23 said:

Hi! I have been submitting to Alamy for a couple of years and have been fortunate to sell a few images. I was wondering if there is a way of knowing where sold images have been used? I used Google image search and managed to track down their online use but is there a way of finding where they have been used in print publications? Or is that not possible? The description next to my sold images gives the print run and says it was a newspaper or magazine but which one?

Unless someone spots an Alamy image in print and posts the details in the monthly 'Have you found any Alamy photographs in xxxxx (month year)' thread it's very hard to track down images in print. I've tracked down my images used online, then found them in the print version of the magazine, but had to view the magazine to find them. Even images licensed for on-line publications don't always show via a google image search. I wish there was an easy answer to your query.

Also try searching by Image ID number in case it has been reported on 'Have you found any Alamy photos'.

My BBC sales description:

Usage: Editorial
Media: Editorial website
Industry sector: General business services
Image Size: Any size
Rights cover a single article published on websites, social media and syndication of articles to third party platforms on all media and platforms worldwide in perpetuity.

My Sun Newspaper sales description:

Usage: Editorial
Media: Newspaper - national