Declining sales since marking all images 'Editorial Only'

With the introduction of the optional 'editorial only' box I went for it across all images earlier this year. Since then I have seen a measurable reduction in sales. I suspect that images were previously sold for commercial purposes despite me showning no releases for people or property. Basically I do not want any problems with my images being sold for commercial purposes in case anyone objects and a court case or other claims are launched. I actually do not care what they are used for as long as I don't get into trouble as a result thereof. Although I am behind first the user and then Alamy I suspect they will try and pass the buck to me if the 'editorial use' box has not been ticked.

Anyone with the same issue and how are you handling it? I would be keen to know.

On the one hand I want to maximise sales, but not at the risk og being sued. I am an amateur without insurance for these kinds of problems.

You can check your previous licence types in the sales summary. But you don't seem to have a lot of the sort of material that might be a problem if licensed commercially. My port isn't too different and I don't apply the restriction.

I only check the 'editorial only' box when I think it's absolutely necessary, which isn't very often. Alamy has contacted me a couple of times and asked me if I would lift the editorial only restrictions on specific images, and I've complied.

27 minutes ago, John Mitchell said:

Alamy has contacted me a couple of times and asked me if I would lift the editorial only restrictions on specific images, and I've complied.

Same here, and they reassure me that I wouldn't be held responsible for any fallout. Therefore it's really a 'no brainer'; that box remains empty.