Why does Sony RX100 meet the requirement?

Hong

Question

Sorry for this rudimentary question. I am a newbie and have read a lot of comments here about Sony RX100.

According to Alamy’s rough guide to digital cameras, "Alamy recommend using cameras with four thirds sensors as a minimum requirement", Sony RX100's 1" sensor size is smaller than four-thirds. All the posts about RX100 I have read here do not suggest it has a sensor size issue. Is Sony RX100 an exception in this regard?

20 answers to this question

On 08/04/2024 at 07:35, Hong said:

Sorry for this rudimentary question. I am a newbie and have read a lot of comments here about Sony RX100.

According to Alamy’s rough guide to digital cameras, "Alamy recommend using cameras with four thirds sensors as a minimum requirement", Sony RX100's 1" sensor size is smaller than four-thirds. All the posts about RX100 I have read here do not suggest it has a sensor size issue. Is Sony RX100 an exception in this regard?

Sorry I’m not a technical person. The key word in what Alamy says is “recommend”. That means there can be exceptions, I assume. Obviously the RX100 series fit in that exception. A lot of people use them.  Most not necessarily as their main camera, like me, but as an easily carried camera when I’m out doing other things besides a deliberate shoot.

They are good enough that some people shoot only with them. My main nit from the original one on (I have three) is noise can be a problem at higher ISOs indoors or darker environments. I learned removing it carefully in LR worked well, but DeNoise makes it a non-issue.

Edited by Betty LaRue
  • Love 1

I don't know, but it might be pushing it to use one for your first 3 submissions, they will be paying closer attention to those. Make sure they are at standard ISO, preferably in bright conditions at a 'normal' aperture and perfectly sharp. Play safe.

• Love 1