Need a new monitor, PC

Hey folks, especially Michael,

Had to upgrade my PC, going to be running a XPS DELL in 64bit OS with a NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 8GB graphics card.

Looking for a 27-inch 4K monitor.  Have read reviews of the DELL U2723Q and the LENOVO P32U-10.

Would appreciate reading others thoughts.

Chuck 

52 minutes ago, Sandi said:

Hi,

Have you looked at Eizo?

https://www.eizo.com/products/flexscan/

I haven't been able to fault mine after several years use.

Sorry I'm not Michael

Sandi

Ha ha 🤣. No you’re not and you probably would not want to be but I would have suggested Eizo anyway. However, I would suggest looking at the Color Edge series, as these are designed for imaging professionals and they are the best available. If you can’t afford Eizo then look at BenQ. I am not a monitor expert and I have no experience with those Dell or Lenovo monitors at all.

I only do serious research when in the market for a new one. Image Science Melbourne (prices in Aussie dollars) have the most up to date info on professional monitors for photo editing and that is where I would look first if I was in the market. Then I would check prices where I live.  

My question for Chuck would be why 4K for photo editing. My preference is for a 2560x1440 for photo editing which allows you to keep the price down a lot compared to the equivalent 4K monitor. A 27” Eizo 2560x1440 with built-in calibrator would be my choice.

There is a recent forum thread with a long discussion with Marianne about monitors which covers a lot of the arguments. She went for an Eizo in the end. My philosophy with monitors is to buy the best you can afford as you are going to be looking at it for years to come and it is most likely the only place you will ever see your images. Why spend loads of money on cameras and lenses,  loads of energy creating images in camera and then edit them on a poor quality cheap monitor? Your images deserve more.

Edited by MDM
  • Like 2