Telephotos and f/stops 8 or higher

hsessions

Question

Hello if anyone can answer this would appreciate it.  Covid has forced me to do something I had no plans on doing previously and that is to purchase a long lens to try birding and small wildlife.  I know nothing about birds and have probably misidentified a few but I was desparate with almost a year in lockdown depression was starting to kick in so had to go out and shoot something.  I am a total newbie using a long zoom like the 200-600mm and  I shoot hand held in shutter speed mode with Auto ISO max set at 2000, and shouldn't forget to mention that it is on an A6600 which I recently also got after selling off the rest of my Nikon gear.

My question is: would it be wise  to push the lens to use f/stops 8 or higher by going into manual mode?  Would a zoom with that range perform well enough or is the 6.3 its best performing f/stop at 600mm for example?  Its all I have been shooting at so far.  I am tempted sometimes and wish I could go beyond the 6.3 especially in good light or when the subject appears very close but worry about pushing the ISO.  In fact looking through the EVF I am at times shocked how high an ISO the camera has chosen, granted I am shooting shutter speeds 1000-2000 at times, but to someone coming from shooting still life and static things most of the time at ISO of 100-400 it is rather alarming to see those high numbers.  Is this normal for these types of lenses?  Still very new and learning, can see the mistakes I am making composition wise and aim to improve and work on that also.

Thanks in advance

Helen

19 answers to this question

Theres not really any one answer when it comes to birds. Although as with everything else, how you shoot depends on one thing - available light.