Do I need insurance?

Hi there, I'm fairly new to Stock Photography and so was wondering what people do with regards to business insurance i.e. public liability, indemnity, etc, to protect against any potential claims/issues along the way. Do we even need insurance or does Alamy take liability? 

I'd be grateful for any advice you could give me as to what you do insurance wise.

Many thanks in advance 👍

I can't think of anything that insurance would do for you specifically with reference to stock photography. Beyond that it depends what sort of work you do. In short, if you work around anything dangerous or expensive, you may want to have third-party liability- if they're particularly dangerous or expensive, you probably won't be able to work without it.

• Love 1

23 minutes ago, AlbertSnapper said:

Do you use a car to go off for the day and take some stock photos ?

Check your car insurance, let them know.

You won't want the insurers to wiggle out of a claim.

Unless it's your profession rather than an incidental pursuit, mentioning "photography" to a car insurer is a red rag to a bull. They think you're carting starlets around- I've tried it. I believe that it doesn't affect the third-party liability anyway.

I am only a named driver on OH's insurance now and it says "retired";)

Edited by spacecadet
  • Love 1

As someone who lives in the U.S. and earns all his money from photography, I have the appropriate insurances to cover me and my business.  I have liability insurance and business equipment insurance...the latter covers all my camera gear as well as home based equipment such as computers, scanners etc...   The car insurance policy I have covers me for business related use of my car.  This is important, if you use your car (at least in the U.S.) while out taking photos for your business and they don't know that, they could deny your claim, if found out.  

• Love 1
  • Like 1