Submitting images to multiple agencies

Hi folks

I'm new to stock and was wondering if I could ask for a little bit of advice.

I'm considering contributing to Alamy and am also looking at the possibility of becoming a contributor at a micro stock agency (Shutterstock).

Am I right in thinking it's not the best idea to submit identical images to both of these libraries? After all, a buyer could simply go to the Micro Agency to purchase the same image at a fraction of the cost. That doesn't help Alamy and it doesn't really help me either.  

Is it best to just stick with a single agency? Or do you have separate portfolios (i.e. one for a traditional library and one for a micro library)?

Bear in mind, my collection is currently quite small. I reckon I have around 50-75 saleable images at this stage.

Thanks in advance.

I find it better to submit to one agency.

If you have images better suited to micro then send them there.

Most contributors have gone through this thought process, have tried several and have chosen the agency (ies) which best suit their style, subjects etc.

dov

"Am I right in thinking it's not the best idea to submit identical images to both of these libraries? After all, a buyer could simply go to the Micro Agency to purchase the same image at a fraction of the cost. That doesn't help Alamy and it doesn't really help me either."

Definitely. By submitting the same images too both agencies, you would only be undercutting yourself (i.e. competing with yourself) IMO. Also, one of the reasons why traditional stock photo prices are now so low is that people have flooded microstock agencies with images that shouldn't have been placed there in the first place. 

I'm also with AgeFotostock (not a micro) and it's interesting to see which images they take as it's an edited agency.

It would be interesting to know what you find is your ratio of sales from your two agencies - for similar numbers.