Seeking Opinions on New / Different Camera

I am trying my best to add to my portfolio on this great site.  Now that I am fully retired from my previous life and as a studio portrait photographer, I am finding the change over to editorial stock interesting, challenging and sometimes frustrating.

In my past life I was shooting Nikon pro cameras, D3, D3s & D4, along with all the big expensive glass.  I'm now down to a Nikon D500 (APS-C crop camera), 17-55mm f2.8 DX lens and a Fuji X-E2 mirrorless camera with the kit 18-55mm f2.8-4 stabilized lens.

Both cameras give me quality images.  The D500 is astonishingly FAST!  The image quality is superb.  It's also quite large and definitely sticks out in a crowd.  The X-E2 is slow to respond, has frustratingly slow shutter lag and no tilting screen.  It does not draw as much attention as the Nikon however.  

I'm learning every day, by way of lurking on this forum mostly, as to what is selling on Alamy.  Good editorial content that is relevant quite often requires people in the image to convey  that relevancy.  I am running into a problem using my Nikon and, even to some extent my Fuji, especially when photographing people.  I have been approached several times recently and challenged as to why I was there with my camera, even once in front of a local big named grocery store.

I'm thinking of going smaller, and consequently less conspicuous, by purchasing a smaller mirrorless camera like the Sony RX100 MkV or perhaps an Olympus Pen etc...

I'm looking for some opinions on this and would like to know if you guys & gals run into the same situations.  I hate confrontation.  In my past life I dealt with that on a daly basis.  I would just as soon not go down that route.  I would like to know what some of you are using.  Maybe a longer lens to be further away from the intended subject, smaller mirrorless camera?  I don't know....opinions, thoughts?

Thanks in advance,

Rick