I bought a ticket for Ladies Day ,Aintree(horse racing) online. I read in the terms and conditions saying unaccredited photographers as well as the general public are not allowed to use their photos in a commercial way. Is that legal ? I was thinking about just taking the photos and sending them to Alamy as I have done in previous years. I'm a freelance photographer. I did send them a message asking for permission a few days ago but they have not replied.

I was going to ask for accreditation  6-8 weeks ago but due to procrastination and some health problems I left it too late. 

I would tend to err on the side of caution and agree with Geoff.

However, it does raise the question of what Aintree means by 'Commercial'. Do they mean 'can't be put to any kind of use involving monetary reward'? Some stock libraries use the terms 'commercial' and 'editorial' to differentiate between those images which can and cannot be used in advertising. Is Aintree simply saying you can't use images for advertising purposes? Are they being deliberately ambiguous? I would love to hear the opinions of experienced press photogs on this.

The usual remedy for a breach of condition would be ejection from the event, because on breach you become a trespasser, but as you are allowed to take photographs they can't know in advance how you may use them and this sort of condition, or its fairness, hasn't been tested in court.

You might decide to carry on as you have in previous years. There is a small chance they will try to strongarm Alamy into removing images (qv National Trust, Network Rail, Blue Flag) in the future.

There appear to be hundreds of unreleased Grand National images on Alamy so they haven't done it yet.

I would tend to ignore this sort of prohibition and follow the David Kilpatrick rule- if I'm not prevented from taking photographs, or told not to, I'm allowed to do as I lawfully please with them.

I would tend to err on the side of caution and agree with Geoff.