<RANT> QC Failure

I understand the ins and outs of QC (I used to be a QA Engineer, sort of similar) but I do not for the life of me understand the inconsistency of Alamy QC.

A few weeks ago, Alamy put out a call for everyday images from France. No particular style or description other than "everyday sort of images". I replied that I have a lot of images from France, they are posted on my own site, were taken with a small (read: unqualified) camera, but I told them that if they see anything on my site that they think would work, I'd be happy to upload them and see if they pass QC. Alamy actually looks at my site and writes back and says, yes, please upload - but does not say which images, so I just start editing. I probably have a thousand images if not more just from France. 

These were all taken with a Canon point and shoot (experimental on my part at the time to see if I wanted to switch to digital) that started using about five years before I got a better camera and started uploading to Alamy. 

So I'm plugging away and seriously working and uploading hundreds of images that pass and get through QC. Yay! Either my editing skills are better, or they aren't so picky about cameras anymore. 

Until this week.

Suddenly, my old camera isn't good enough, images are soft, and it's always one image in the middle of a batch. I have a three star QC rating and my images go through QC rather quickly while I'm sleeping. I don't want to lose that rating.

I thought that QC at Alamy was performed by AI, so I figured at this point it would be really consistent. Am I wrong about that? 

Anyway, this is just a rant, no need to respond ... If nothing else, I'm getting better edited images to put on my own web site, so it's not all for naught. 

</RANT>

• Love 1

5 hours ago, kimba said: