Tree id please

geogphotos

In a churchyard, Wiltshire, England. It caught my eye but I can't identify.

Any ideas please - I know that yew trees are often found in churchyards but it looks less gnarled and more of a spread. 

Possibly a cedar?? Cedrus libani

I0000G9dUegs59hk.jpg

I000083FS5ogK0AA.jpg

Thanks for looking

Edited by geogphotos

41 minutes ago, Mr Standfast said:

Churchyard would know. Maybe. 

It's at Colerne. I see that they have three yew trees but don't think that this is one of them. 

I've sent them an email.

Edited by geogphotos

4 hours ago, geogphotos said:

In a churchyard, Wiltshire, England. It caught my eye but I can't identify.

Any ideas please - I know that yew trees are often found in churchyards but it looks less gnarled and more of a spread. 

Possibly a cedar?? Cedrus libani

I0000G9dUegs59hk.jpg

I000083FS5ogK0AA.jpg

Thanks for looking

I’m thinking some kind of cedar, but I’m no expert.

3 hours ago, geogphotos said:

It's at Colerne. I see that they have three yew trees but don't think that this is one of them. 

I've sent them an email.

Loked at my colerne pictures, no help but fixed some spelling mistakes. 😇

30 minutes ago, Mr Standfast said:

Loked at my colerne pictures, no help but fixed some spelling mistakes. 😇

Loked!  Ahem!

Allan

Another possibility is the old church yard tree.  Yew  Taxus baccata. The Yew bark is very much like the bark in your photo.

Allan

Hello Ian - thank you for sharing your great picture

It is an ATLAS CEDAR - Cedrus Atlantica

22 yrs ago both the trunk and crown had been taken over by dense ivy growing almost everywhere.

I had to use a chain saw to sever the ivy on the trunk in 2 places approx a metre apart

After 3 months I was able to remove that metre of ivy with a crowbar.

It then took about 3 yrs for the ivy to die, and be removed and at the same time i was able to remove quite a bit of deadwood

In recent years it has become a magnificent item - and I am very proud of it!!