Different processing RAW files for H or V shot

Hi Guys

As a stock photographer I often take the same shot in horizontal or vertical mode.

Sometimes shooting on a tripod, with a prime lens and in manual exposure mode I have to process the two shots differently in order to get them to match.

Any ideas why?

Steve

If there's no mechanical fault, something in your workflow must be on automatic.

Have you tried putting both H and V on 2 layers and aligning them to see if it's not an optical illusion?

Do the images look the same when viewed on the camera display? Are they still the same when viewed on the display of your computer?

Do you use a raw converter that allows you to apply the exact same settings as the previous conversion? (Like ACR.)

wim

edit: In 2J38WAM and 2J38WA6 it's light fall off (or vignetting) of the lens, that influences a different part of your image. Plus a different camera angle left/right.

Try taking 2 images using only the exact square center in H and V and rotated around the exact center point.

If you suspect mechanical failure of some sorts, try the same camera positions in upside down position also.

Edited by wiskerke

You say "In manual mode" but when you shoot one image in horizontal the camera generally sees a different overall brightness than when you shoot in vertical (Portrait mode).

Could this be the problem?

Allan

• Love 3