critique for my wildlife portfolio

Hello there!

I'm quite new to alamy and don't have a big portfolio yet.
Nonetheless I would be very grateful to get a few tips/advices on what I could do better to present my pictures in the best way.
I focus mainly on wildlife photography and am aware that these are not the best seller overall.

https://www.alamy.de/portfolio/philswildlife

Thank you!!

• Love 1

I think the images  you have are perfectly saleable,  perhaps putting more keywords on them would help their visibility in the search engine. There are a few too many "similars" in you collection.  As you probably know, stock photography is a bit of a numbers game and your portfolio is very small,  presently. I have found that a large and varied portfolio helps with sales volume.  So you might struggle with wildlife only,  here on Alamy.  Certainly finding a niche or specialization can be a good thing, particularly if you  subject is underrepresented in the collection, but  sticking mainly to one main area or subject,  may hamper you  when it comes to sales. 

Edited by John Gaffen
  • Like 1

You obviously enjoy wildlife photography, so do I, and you have some good images.

However, we have chosen one of the most competitive fields. I only looked at page 1 of your portfolio, and one thing struck me straight away: not many, if at all, Latin names. They should be both in caption and tags. Without them, you stand very little chance.

Also, I see you partly keyword in German. Alamy asked us to only tag in English. They translate in other languages for us.

Good luck!

52 minutes ago, gvallee said:

You obviously enjoy wildlife photography, so do I, and you have some good images.

However, we have chosen one of the most competitive fields. I only looked at page 1 of your portfolio, and one thing struck me straight away: not many, if at all, Latin names. They should be both in caption and tags. Without them, you stand very little chance.