probably the weirdest question but...keywords in other languages?

lisah2006

Question

So, this will be a very weird question (be gentle with me..I'm fairly new to all this) but since Alamy is an international site, is it wise to keyword things in other languages, or does Alamy do that already? Yes, I do feel like an idiot asking this, why do you ask? Hahaha!

19 answers to this question

9 minutes ago, spacecadet said:

Alamy translates keywords into French, German, Italian Spanish and Portuguese itself, so no, I don't anymore.

Thank you! I figured they probably did but then ... I wasn't sure..because I never really looked into it to be sure. ;)

English is the lingua franca of the 21st century, although sometimes I wonder about that. And there's the Google Translator. I always put in the orginal spelling of  a location, like both Seville and Sevilla. How many languages were you planning to include, Lisa? Both Vietnamese and Cambodian? The tags would be five pages thick. 

4 hours ago, lisah2006 said:

So, this will be a very weird question (be gentle with me..I'm fairly new to all this) but since Alamy is an international site, is it wise to keyword things in other languages, or does Alamy do that already? Yes, I do feel like an idiot asking this, why do you ask? Hahaha!

Alamy advises against it, as they have their own translating software 9I believe). In any event they say it will adversely affect the ability to search your images :) 

Alamy has asked us in an email at some point if we could provide translations of our own keywords in other languages.

Not sure what the outcome of that project has been.

In this forum people sometimes make fun of the translations into other languages, when they happen upon Alamy.de or Alamy.it.

Yesterday I noticed the opposite can be true also:

Germany, Saxony-Anhalt, Dessau-horse-lukewarm, Bauhaus, - Stock Image

This is the second result for Dessau, a city in Germany where the Bauhaus is located.