Expert or novice

Amimi

I think the lines between novice/expert/amateur/pro are very blurred now.  What definition do you use for pro?  If you go down the "earns their living from photography" route then you will find a lot of "amateurs" (not earning their living from photography) take consistently better shots than some "pros". 

I have only recently joined Alamy and have not sold anything yet - but I have sold on microstock sites a couple of years back when I was far more novicey than I am now.  

Try not to worry about the where you consider yourself on the range of photographers and just concentrate on getting quality shots.

6 hours ago, Amimi said:

I’m new at photography, has anyone sold an image that wasn’t a pro?

I would hazard a guess that about 75% of Alamy contributors aren't pros ie earn more than half their income from stock.

And plenty of those have sold images, me included!

John.

25 minutes ago, Amimi said:

what's the best way to make an image discoverable?

Take good images and keyword them the best you can using Alamy measures to help you

Kumar

2 hours ago, Amimi said:

Thank you for your input. I recently purchased my nikon, and with no formal training, I'm apprehensive about my images looking good enough.