How many photos do you keep from a batch of say....

Or less specifically. Almost impossible to quantify I know and a bit like asking how long we take to keyword (although that proved to be very useful and interesting).

I'm not actually sure, but I would guess that if I take 100 shots for example, I probably wind up with about 20 to 30 plus or minus.

Depends on the type of shoot, the subject, what I'm shooting for...  It can be 1 out of 100, and it can be much more to even up to 80 if it's something very much in my comfort zone.

When I started as a complete newbie, I kept all of my beloved babies.

When I became more interested in photography and got better at it, I kept 50%

When I became more serious about photography and started selling, I got me a much bigger wastepaperbasket, reviewed what I had in stock and threw away another 50% (That was in the prehistoric times when we, cavemen, went hunting with slidefilm)

Now - while I think I have enough experience to know when NOT to take a picture -   I keep more than 80%.

Cheers,

Philippe

Well, that's more or less what I meant, but said way better than I did :-)

With external hard drives so cheap for the amount that can be stored on them, I keep all but those really bad images; very blurry, too dark, etc., which I delete. I use Lr, so those images that "I" like/love yet know they'll never sell due to quality, I just remove from the catalog. But they remain on the EXHDD for me to look at whenever I like, as I don't remove them from disk. Of particular shoots now that I'm a bit better at this, I may find 1 to 5 of a shoot that I think will be good stock or Fine Art images. Though I'm still quite new at all this and haven't quite got the hang of what will sell, whether I personally like them or not. Perfect example is those I've sold on other sites I didn't think they'd sell but did, whereas those I thought would, haven't. ;)