Pros/Cons of Additional Revenue Options...

I'm pretty new to the stock biz but I see on "My Alamy" page there is a list of "Additional Revenue Options".  I would think that opting into all of them would mean more opportunities to increase revenue, so why wouldn't someone opt in to all of the options available?  What are the advantages and disadvantages of the different options?  Thanks.

There's a very simple answer: if you have a way to sell your images to those clients for more money, then you don't opt in.

Basically that's the answer to why use an agent in the first place: do I need a middle man?

The web surely was doing away with all middlemen? And it was for a short while when the internet was new.

Now you have established market places. And most photographers are not sellers, but producers of a commodity.

wim

If you are new to stock, by all means opt in to pretty well everything. If you establish a following and feel a need to protect some of your values or markets, then you might pause for a re-think. In the meantime don't fret about the nuances, you need to start uploading a decent sized portfolio before anything else.

No images; no sales!

As April is the month for opting in or out of 'Novel Use' I did a quick search on the forums to see what contributors think of the scheme but the search returned no results. Presumably Novel Use has been discussed a plenty?

Having gone through my latest payments I have just opted out of some of the lowest paying distributors e.g Slovak Republic.  I think I can live without the odd £1.07!!!

Pearl

As April is the month for opting in or out of 'Novel Use' I did a quick search on the forums to see what contributors think of the scheme but the search returned no results. Presumably Novel Use has been discussed a plenty?

I have a feeling that Novel Use has been discontinued.

Never signed up for it.

Anyone know ?