New Member Introductions!

jzak

Hello All,

I'm not sure if I posted this to the correct thread, but I just wanted to introduce myself to the forum. My name is Joshua Zakary. I am an Amateur Photographer. During my aid work in Afghanistan, Namibia, and Uganda I had the opportunity to photograph my experiences there. I just got back from working in Afghanistan, and I thought maybe I should try to sell some of my photos through the internet. That's how I got started with Alamy.com

I assume that selling photos here, isn't as simple as just posted them to the web site. I've uploaded a few photos so far, adding location, description, and keywords for each image, but no one seems interested. I could use any advice you can give me on how to effectively promote my work on Alamy.

Thanks!

Josh

Hello Jzak,

First of all welcome to Alamy. You made a good choice.

You have just started and you have only 4 images here online. I would say far and far away to expect sales. First you need to build a portfolio. The best is one that has quantity/quality/variation. With only four images it is not realistic to make a prediction and to ask advice. As good as nobody is able to make regular/quick sales with that small amount.

Like i said create first a portfolio of lets say 3000+ images and give it at least a half year time. Then you are ready to eventually ask for advice how to improve.

BTW you already have a good start with your images. They look good.

Good luck.

Mirco

Hi Josh

Welcome.

Great photos. One piece of advice would be to focus more on your descriptions and key words.

Remember to add singular as well as plural of words, sometimes conjugations, etc.- and more words describing the landscape and any situation important for the image (you don't even have the word "landscape"). I am sure your images are saleable.