Dear forum members,

I am not complaining about sales since my portfolio is only few weeks online but i want to improve my portfolio. Since you are all experienced stock photographers i would appreciate to know what you would change or do better when looking at my portfolio.

I thank you allready.

Mirco

Hi Mirco,

Firstly how is the baby? Good to see you back and I see you are loading at a fantastic rate again! Well done.

I am no expert or huge seller myself but for what my opinion is worth, I shall give it.

I have actually looked at your portfolio a couple of times and I do not think you are missing much. You have a good variety and plenty that contain people and model released which is good. I have thought a number of times that your main problem would come from your keywording, but I think that is just the language limitations for you. A while ago someone posted a link to a keywording sort of dictionary/thesaurus which I have found a huge help for suggesting alternatives. Sorry I am not at my PC at the moment so do not have the link. Perhaps someone else can help? Its going to be things like, mother, mum, mom. I will take another look at some examples and send you a personal message.

Hi Mirco

I'm relatively new at this game myself so I'm not sure how helpful this will be.

All manner of images sell, you will get some sales, however....

I feel that you need to be thinking about the requirements of the customer a bit more, why would they use that photo? What would be the perfect shot for that application? e.g. in crude terms a photo of a particular shop needs to be just that, not containing half the street. Some of your shots look a tad empty to me, your'e not close enough to the subject, e.g. there's a couple of a cyclist in a park and I can't make out the cyclist in the thumbnails. 

Not sure that photos of trolley wheels etc will sell, why would they be used? No doubt they'll sell like hot cakes after I've said that!