I don't normally reach out for help in fear of getting my fingers chewed off, however, I do feel these days I'm going backward with photography. Namely in a photo-journalistic sense. I'm purely self taught of three years now. I landed on the news thing by accident and I'm not really qualified enough to call myself a photojournalist. In fact it's an insult to those who are, if I was to give myself that label. 

It's the situations I sometimes find myself in that gets me the shots. I know my area well enough to know when there's something not right. I go and investigate and more often than not there's something there to document. However, I do feel I've been dropping the ball a lot on the story telling aspects of the shots lately. 

Is it something you just learn through your mistakes or is it one of these "you're just born with it" things?

I'm not really sure I'm getting any better from a photographic sense. Yes I have a better camera and invested in good glass, which has resulted in cleaner images and better reproduction of the scene, however, one abundant truth seems to be that the actual images don't seem to have much weight to them, and it's annoying me to no end, and I have no idea how to fix it. 

Is there training?

Useful books? 

Willing to try new approaches to what's been a very stale run of late. Appreciate the time to read. 

Paul 

Having decent gear is always helpful as these are the prerequisite tools of our trade. If there was a magic wand then we would all be using it. With ever increasing quantities of photographers in a market where prices are shrinking and expectations are dropping it is difficult to see where and how to make your mark. A distinctive style or niche sector in the market can help make a name. Looking at images of successful photographers in your field may help. Perseverance and luck will both help.

Good luck - dov