Dangers of photography Part III (ish)

This morning I was standing outside Portcullis House, the office block for MP’s in London.  My camera (a Nikon D5 and a 70-200mm lens, so Hardly inconspicuous) was out but I had not taken any pictures.  Two police cars, one an Armed Response Unit, pulled up.  the armed response officers, came towards me.  .  They asked me what I was doing.  I explained that I was a press photographer and (slowly and carefully) got out my press card.  At which point one of the ARV officers radioed to cancel all units responding to the “incident” at Portcullis House.  The police told me that a member of the public (I am fairly sure it was one of the security staff) had reported that I had been seen taking photos of security passes.  I said to the officer that while I was under no legal obligation to show him what was on my memory card exceptionally I would do so.  I did show him the photos I had taken and he was satisfied.  However, the other officer asked to see my press card and took details,  as he said had to make a report on the “incident”.

The officers were polite and business like.  However,  it is just a bit worrying.  It is a sign of the times that I am now being stopped on many occasions photographing around Westminster I was not aware photography was, at least not yet, a crime.....

I am so sorry. You are doing nothing wrong but plying your profession, and being made to feel like a crook.

You handled it perfectly. Still sorry you had to go through that.  I was made to feel the same only once, and once was enough.  For shooting sandpipers!

Betty

I haven't been stopped and questioned for a long time, and I have no time for obnoxious 'security guards'. I remember well the 'I'm a Photographer Not a Terrorist' mass protest in Trafalgar Square just over 10 years ago, the situation is better since then but not perfect.

• Like 1