Product Shots-Point of focus

Just a thought, when you focus on a product shot where is the best place to focus? I’m fairly new to this kind of thing and I’m wondering if you have some kind of pack shot to do and the brand name is off-centre, sometimes right at the top left hand corner, do you focus on the brand name or at the center of the subject? I’m shooting with a 70mm macro at F11-F13 full-frame, and close up, getting everything in focus is not an option. I’ve tried F16 but experience diffraction. Appreciate any comments.

You could try focus stacking if you have Photoshop (any version since CS4 I think) by taking several shots. Or increase the distance between the camera and the object and crop. 

EDIT: I just checked when we had a conversation before now recall it was last year. At the time you were using a D800E as well as a Canon.If you are still using the D800E, then you should have ample crop room so shouldn't have to go in really close. What 70mm macro lens are you using? I never heard of a 70mm macro Nikkor. 

22 hours ago, MDM said:

You could try focus stacking if you have Photoshop (any version since CS4 I think) by taking several shots. Or increase the distance between the camera and the object and crop. 

EDIT: I just checked when we had a conversation before now recall it was last year. At the time you were using a D800E as well as a Canon.If you are still using the D800E, then you should have ample crop room so shouldn't have to go in really close. What 70mm macro lens are you using? I never heard of a 70mm macro Nikkor. 

Its a Sigma 70mm macro f2.8. I'm using it on a 5D Mk3. Is it necessary to get everything in focus?

46 minutes ago, DarkSlide said:

Its a Sigma 70mm macro f2.8. I'm using it on a 5D Mk3. Is it necessary to get everything in focus?

No so long as the main point of interest is in focus.

Allan

58 minutes ago, DarkSlide said: